Monday, March 29, 2010

NDLTD ETD Awards 2010 Winners Announced

The NDLTD is pleased to announce this year's award winners. The awards recognize students who have written exemplary electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) as well as leaders who have helped to promote ETD programs. Winners have demonstrated new dimensions of scholarship being explored by individuals who have made significant contributions to the worldwide ETD movement.

The awards will be presented at the ETD 2010 Symposium, to be held this year at the University of Texas, Austin, Texas June 16 - 18, 2010.

And the winners are...

Innovative ETD Award
  • Andrew Barnes / Master of Science in Journalism / West Virginia University, U.S.A.
  • Guylaine Vaillancourt / Ph.D. Leadership and Change / Antioch University, U.S.A.
  • Andre Zimmermann / Ph.D. Geography / University of British Columbia, Canada

Innovative Learning through ETDs Award

  • Leslie Jarmon / Ph.D. Communication Studies / University of Texas, U.S.A.
  • Jacques Orton / Master’s in Architecture / University of Pretoria, South Africa

ETD Leadership Award

  • Tim Brace / University of Texas, U.S.A.
  • Monica Hammes / University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Nancy Stuart / University of Victoria, Canada

The full NDLTD press release is available online.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Extended Deadline for proposals: Monday, March 15th

The program committee for ETD 2010 has extended the deadline for submitting proposals for posters, papers, and presentations through Monday, March 15th. Please see the call for papers appended below or consult the Conference web site at This year's conference will be hosted in Austin, Texas by the University of Texas Libraries and the Texas Digital Library. We will continue to add information to the web site as the conference takes shape.

We look forward to hosting this international event and hope to see many of you in Austin this June!

Most sincerely,

Doug Barnett
Chief of Staff, Office of the Vice Provost
University of Texas Libraries
Phone: 512-495-4388 | Fax: 512-495-4347 |

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Travel Scholarships – ETD 2010

source: Photo by Jonathan Talbot, World Resources Institute, 2007In keeping with the spirit of open access and inclusiveness, the NDLTD offers travel scholarships to delegates in need of financial assistance to attend the ETD 2010 symposium. Travel scholarships are awarded based on need and reviewed according to NDLTD Conference Handbook guidelines. Scholarships may cover some or all transportation, registration and lodging costs.

Travel scholarship recipients are typically individuals from developing nations and/or graduate student awards program winners. This year's goal is to fund participation for 8 to 12 conference delegates. A required post-conference survey will be collected to assess the outcomes of delegate attendance.

To apply for a travel scholarship for ETD 2010, please complete the Financial Assistance Form and email to by March 15, 2010.

Applicants will be notified of scholarship decisions by March 22, 2010.

Doug Barnett
Chief of Staff, Office of the Vice Provost
University of Texas Libraries
Phone: 512-495-4388 | Fax: 512-495-4347 |

photo source: source: Jonathan Talbot, World Resources Institute, 2007